Categories
Books Fiction review Thriller

Sleepless by Romy Hausmann – Review

Fiction
Genre: Thriller/Suspense
Published: July 2021
Publisher: Quercus
Pages: 322
My Rating:
🦋🦋🦋🦋/5 stars

“And she did. She said it after collapsing into my arms. ‘I’ve got a problem, Nadja.’

Now that problem is in my boot.

Romy Hausmann, Sleepless

Years ago, Nadja Kulka was convicted and imprisoned for a terrible crime. Now after her release, all she wants is to love a normal unassuming life. Then one day, an old friend Laura calls her in a state of panic. She’s just killed her lover and doesn’t know what to do. Nadja decides to help her out and they make their way to a house near the woods. But Nadja doesn’t know she about to be blindsided. She’s the perfect victim and the perfect murderer.

“On the left-hand side of the room, right in front of the open fireplace and directly below the happy family photographs on the mantelpiece, there it lay – the body.”

All Nadja wants is to live a normal life and to get over what happened in her past, but now all of these events taking place brings back those old memories and emotions. She didn’t have a good childhood and had a strained relationship with her mother.

The chapters alternate between past and present and we learn about what actually happened in Nadja’s past and how she has ended up where she is now. I enjoyed the short chapters learning how each character ties in with the next.

This was my first Romy Hausmann novel and I was very impressed. Originally written in German, it translates perfectly and provides just the right amount of suspense and tension you are looking for.

Disclaimer: I was sent this free copy for review by Jonathan Ball Publishers. This does not influence my review or rating in any way. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a comment